Release: AR Libertarian Party's 2012 Candidates

For Immediate Release: Thursday, April 19 2012

AR Libertarian Party’s 2012 Candidates

(Little Rock, AR) On Saturday, the Libertarian Party of Arkansas (LPAR) nominated candidates for the 2012 election during their state convention.  The LPAR nominated candidates to run in all four Congressional districts as well as candidates in several state-wide and local races.

This is the first time in history that the LPAR has met the ballot access requirements to run candidates for any office other than President. The LPAR was certified as a new political party by the Secretary of State in 2011 after submitting more than 16,000 signatures of registered voters. In Arkansas, new political parties choose their candidates at a nominating convention rather than in a primary.

“We are thrilled that every Arkansan will have at least two Libertarians on their ballot this year,” said Chairman Rodger Paxton of Marion. “We will not have to compromise and choose the lesser of two evils, but can finally vote on principals that include true freedom and liberty in every aspect of our lives.”

Libertarians advocate lower taxes, more personal freedom and less government intervention.

In order for the LPAR to retain ballot access for 2014, the Libertarian presidential nominee must have three percent of the vote in Arkansas. If the Libertarian presidential nominee earns less than three percent, the LPAR will be required to gather 10,000 valid signatures from registered voters in order to run candidates in 2014.

The National Libertarian Party will nominate their presidential candidate on May 5 during their national convention in Las Vegas. Libertarian presidential nominees include former New Mexico Governor Gary Johnson, R. Lee Wrights of Texas and others. The LPAR plans to send at least six delegates to the nominating convention next month.


Among the LPAR’s nominated candidates:


National Office:

1st District House: Jessica Paxton, Marion

2nd District House: Chris Hayes, Little Rock

3rd District House: David Pangrac, Van Buren

4th District House: Robert “Bobby” Tullis, Mineral Springs


State Office:

State Senate District 13: Frank Gilbert, Tull

State Senate District 25: David Dinwiddie, Pine Bluff

State Senate District 31: Glen Schwarz, Little Rock

State Representative District 51: Rodger Paxton, Marion


Local Office:

Saline County Judge: Gordon Hall, Bryant

Constable, Sebastian County Upper Township: Steve Jones, Fort Smith

Crawford County Justice of the Peace: Crystal Pangrac, Van Buren

Constable, Henderson Township: William “Bill” House, Bonnerdale

Justice of the Peace, Sebastian County: Brian Leach, Fort Smith



The Libertarian Party of Arkansas is a state affiliate of the National Libertarian Party. The LPAR has been active since the mid-1970′s and has consistently placed a Libertarian presidential candidate on the ballot since 1980.  In 2011 the LPAR became an official political party after meeting the requirements set forth by the state.

For more information please visit or find us on facebook.

Jessica Paxton


Scroll to Top